Pass Block, Diving Tackle and Mighty Blow questions.
Moderator: TFF Mods
- Xin
- Rookie
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:35 am
- Location: Mora, Sweden
- Contact:
Pass Block, Diving Tackle and Mighty Blow questions.
Heya,
Consider the following:
Two players with pass block are going to try to put some pressure on the reciever, however they both need to make a dodge roll to get away from various tackle zones. Now, what if the first player fails his dodge roll and falls over, is the second player still allowed to give it a try or is it considered a "turnover" in the sense that no more Pass block actions can be performed?
Also... do the effects of Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle stack if used?
Lastly, if a player has Mighty Blow and Claws can he allocate the +1 mighty blow bonus to the injury roll (and have claws to break armor) or can these two skills not be used at all together?
Thanks.
Consider the following:
Two players with pass block are going to try to put some pressure on the reciever, however they both need to make a dodge roll to get away from various tackle zones. Now, what if the first player fails his dodge roll and falls over, is the second player still allowed to give it a try or is it considered a "turnover" in the sense that no more Pass block actions can be performed?
Also... do the effects of Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle stack if used?
Lastly, if a player has Mighty Blow and Claws can he allocate the +1 mighty blow bonus to the injury roll (and have claws to break armor) or can these two skills not be used at all together?
Thanks.
Reason: ''
Xin
- DoubleSkulls
- Da Admin
- Posts: 8219
- Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
- Location: Back in the UK
- Contact:
Re: Pass Block, Diving Tackle and Mighty Blow questions.
You can't TO in your opponets turn so all your PB's can move, regardless of failed dodges etcXin wrote:Two players with pass block are going to try to put some pressure on the reciever, however they both need to make a dodge roll to get away from various tackle zones. Now, what if the first player fails his dodge roll and falls over, is the second player still allowed to give it a try or is it considered a "turnover" in the sense that no more Pass block actions can be performed?
YesXin wrote:Also... do the effects of Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle stack if used?
You can't combine Claw and MB on the armour roll, but you can use claw for the Av and MB for the injury.Xin wrote:Lastly, if a player has Mighty Blow and Claws can he allocate the +1 mighty blow bonus to the injury roll (and have claws to break armor) or can these two skills not be used at all together?
Thanks.
Ian
Reason: ''
- Furelli
- Star Player
- Posts: 529
- Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 8:36 am
- Location: Vienna
- DoubleSkulls
- Da Admin
- Posts: 8219
- Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
- Location: Back in the UK
- Contact:
- Xin
- Rookie
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:35 am
- Location: Mora, Sweden
- Contact:
Well, seems I got all my questions answered, thanks!
Though one thing, Furelli, in the other thread you mentioned the following thing:
"Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle do not stack. Its automatically a -1 from the Prehensile Tail, if this is not enough then after the dice roll you may choose to use the Diving Tackle instead to impose -2. "
Are you saying that you may choose to use Diving Tackle after the dodge roll has been made? I was under the impression that you had to use Diving Tackle before the dodge roll was made.
Though one thing, Furelli, in the other thread you mentioned the following thing:
"Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle do not stack. Its automatically a -1 from the Prehensile Tail, if this is not enough then after the dice roll you may choose to use the Diving Tackle instead to impose -2. "
Are you saying that you may choose to use Diving Tackle after the dodge roll has been made? I was under the impression that you had to use Diving Tackle before the dodge roll was made.
Reason: ''
Xin
-
- Da Cynic
- Posts: 7462
- Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
- Location: Nice Red Uniforms and Fanatical devotion to the Pope!
- Xin
- Rookie
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:35 am
- Location: Mora, Sweden
- Contact:
Oh, this is news to me. So if DT is enough for the player to fail his dodge roll is he then entitled to reroll it (if he has the dodge skill, reroll..etc)?voyagers_uk wrote:At present DT is declared after the dodge roll is made, just like Piling On.
There are a few threads of debate on this elsewhere as it is a bone of contention to some. I prefer it this way though.
Reason: ''
Xin
-
- Da Cynic
- Posts: 7462
- Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
- Location: Nice Red Uniforms and Fanatical devotion to the Pope!
- DoubleSkulls
- Da Admin
- Posts: 8219
- Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
- Location: Back in the UK
- Contact:
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 240
- Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 9:56 pm
- Location: Washington, DC
But until you use DT, presumably the opponent didn't need to use their dodge skill. But after you've used DT, you're prone and can't use any more skills.voyagers_uk wrote:Sure, unless the person with DT also has Tackle. TRR's would be required then.
Is this too nitpicky? Are you allowed to use any combination of skills with the going prone skills like piling on and diving tackle, as long as it is all related to the same sequence of events?
Reason: ''
- DoubleSkulls
- Da Admin
- Posts: 8219
- Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
- Location: Back in the UK
- Contact:
Very nitpicky. I'd consider this rules lawyering of the worst kind.High & Mighty wrote:Is this too nitpicky? Are you allowed to use any combination of skills with the going prone skills like piling on and diving tackle, as long as it is all related to the same sequence of events?
IMO the intention of the rules are quite clear and you can use other skills even when DTing. It can be argued you apply tackle and DT simultaneously so you are not prone until after using tackle/PT
Ian
Reason: ''
-
- Rulz Guru
- Posts: 801
- Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
- Location: Amherst, NY
- Contact: