Pass Block, Diving Tackle and Mighty Blow questions.

Don't understand a particular rule or just need to clarify something? This is the forum for you. With 2 of the BBRC members and the main LRB5/6 writer present at TFF, you're bound to get as good an answer as possible.

Moderator: TFF Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Xin
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:35 am
Location: Mora, Sweden
Contact:

Pass Block, Diving Tackle and Mighty Blow questions.

Post by Xin »

Heya,

Consider the following:

Two players with pass block are going to try to put some pressure on the reciever, however they both need to make a dodge roll to get away from various tackle zones. Now, what if the first player fails his dodge roll and falls over, is the second player still allowed to give it a try or is it considered a "turnover" in the sense that no more Pass block actions can be performed?

Also... do the effects of Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle stack if used?

Lastly, if a player has Mighty Blow and Claws can he allocate the +1 mighty blow bonus to the injury roll (and have claws to break armor) or can these two skills not be used at all together?

Thanks.

Reason: ''
Xin
User avatar
DoubleSkulls
Da Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
Location: Back in the UK
Contact:

Re: Pass Block, Diving Tackle and Mighty Blow questions.

Post by DoubleSkulls »

Xin wrote:Two players with pass block are going to try to put some pressure on the reciever, however they both need to make a dodge roll to get away from various tackle zones. Now, what if the first player fails his dodge roll and falls over, is the second player still allowed to give it a try or is it considered a "turnover" in the sense that no more Pass block actions can be performed?
You can't TO in your opponets turn so all your PB's can move, regardless of failed dodges etc
Xin wrote:Also... do the effects of Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle stack if used?
Yes
Xin wrote:Lastly, if a player has Mighty Blow and Claws can he allocate the +1 mighty blow bonus to the injury roll (and have claws to break armor) or can these two skills not be used at all together?
Thanks.
You can't combine Claw and MB on the armour roll, but you can use claw for the Av and MB for the injury.

Ian

Reason: ''
User avatar
Furelli
Star Player
Star Player
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Vienna

Post by Furelli »

That'll teach me for reading these posts from Official Teams upwards, I answered the other query but I seem to disagree with Ian on the prehensile tail and diving tackle question.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Furelli.

Reason: ''
Am I living in a box? Am I living in a cardboard box?
User avatar
DoubleSkulls
Da Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
Location: Back in the UK
Contact:

Post by DoubleSkulls »

Furelli wrote:I answered the other query but I seem to disagree with Ian on the prehensile tail and diving tackle question.
Furelli.
IIRC the rules only state that you can't stack Av/Inj modifiers. I thought this "no stacking" didn't effect other rolls - so DT & PT can stack.

Ian

Reason: ''
User avatar
Xin
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:35 am
Location: Mora, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Xin »

Well, seems I got all my questions answered, thanks!

Though one thing, Furelli, in the other thread you mentioned the following thing:

"Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle do not stack. Its automatically a -1 from the Prehensile Tail, if this is not enough then after the dice roll you may choose to use the Diving Tackle instead to impose -2. "

Are you saying that you may choose to use Diving Tackle after the dodge roll has been made? I was under the impression that you had to use Diving Tackle before the dodge roll was made.

Reason: ''
Xin
voyagers_uk
Da Cynic
Posts: 7462
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Nice Red Uniforms and Fanatical devotion to the Pope!

Post by voyagers_uk »

At present DT is declared after the dodge roll is made, just like Piling On.

There are a few threads of debate on this elsewhere as it is a bone of contention to some. I prefer it this way though.

Reason: ''
User avatar
Xin
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:35 am
Location: Mora, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Xin »

voyagers_uk wrote:At present DT is declared after the dodge roll is made, just like Piling On.

There are a few threads of debate on this elsewhere as it is a bone of contention to some. I prefer it this way though.
Oh, this is news to me. So if DT is enough for the player to fail his dodge roll is he then entitled to reroll it (if he has the dodge skill, reroll..etc)?

Reason: ''
Xin
voyagers_uk
Da Cynic
Posts: 7462
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Nice Red Uniforms and Fanatical devotion to the Pope!

Post by voyagers_uk »

Sure, unless the person with DT also has Tackle. TRR's would be required then.

Reason: ''
User avatar
DoubleSkulls
Da Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
Location: Back in the UK
Contact:

Post by DoubleSkulls »

LRB pp 34

"1. You can’t add bonuses from two or more skills/traits to modify an Armour or Injury roll."

There is no mention of dodge rolls (or anything else for that matter) so Prehensile Tail and Diving Tackle can be stacked to give -3.

Ian

Reason: ''
High & Mighty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 9:56 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Post by High & Mighty »

voyagers_uk wrote:Sure, unless the person with DT also has Tackle. TRR's would be required then.
But until you use DT, presumably the opponent didn't need to use their dodge skill. But after you've used DT, you're prone and can't use any more skills.

Is this too nitpicky? Are you allowed to use any combination of skills with the going prone skills like piling on and diving tackle, as long as it is all related to the same sequence of events?

Reason: ''
User avatar
DoubleSkulls
Da Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
Location: Back in the UK
Contact:

Post by DoubleSkulls »

High & Mighty wrote:Is this too nitpicky? Are you allowed to use any combination of skills with the going prone skills like piling on and diving tackle, as long as it is all related to the same sequence of events?
Very nitpicky. I'd consider this rules lawyering of the worst kind.

IMO the intention of the rules are quite clear and you can use other skills even when DTing. It can be argued you apply tackle and DT simultaneously so you are not prone until after using tackle/PT

Ian

Reason: ''
Acerak
Rulz Guru
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Amherst, NY
Contact:

Post by Acerak »

I think it's a bit hazier than I'd like it. How's that? :)

-Chet

Reason: ''
Post Reply