Page 1 of 2

Java BB question

Posted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:41 pm
by JasonC
How do you " re-add team picture block" as stated in the readme for an edited team roster?

Posted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:30 pm
by SkiJunkie
I should have worded that I bit better. By read I mean open the html roster in a text editor and copy the html picture block pack into the roster. Of course to do this you need the old copy of the roster, otherwise you will have to retype the whole picture block into the newly updated roster.

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 11:50 am
by JasonC
I'm still lost, could you clarify? I dont know what you are talking about when yousay copy the html picture block pack into the roster. What is that?

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 1:53 pm
by SkiJunkie
OKay, the whole picture block of html code is used to override the default pictures used for each player on the roster. A block could look something like this:

Team Pictures
<TABLE><TR>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
</TR></TABLE>

This block would be near the end of the html roster file. (PS you would have had to add this block yourself by hand for it to be there in the first place, so the text below assumes you are editing a roster that already has this block).

Now when you use the team editor program to edit your roster, when you save the changes this block will disappear from your HTML roster file.

So by re-add, I mean that you must open the HTML roster and either retype in this block or cut and paste it from an old copy of your roster.

Make more sense?

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 4:05 pm
by Toby
Ski Junky, sorry off topic.

Can you implement the 4 minute Turn Time Limit to speed up the game please ?

There could be a Timeout (pause) option.

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 4:14 pm
by JasonC
I guess my main problem is I cannot locate the file that needs to be modified. I open the roster and dont see anything other than the roster. I must be looking inthe wrong place.

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 5:46 pm
by SkiJunkie
You need to open the html roster in a text editor (like notepad). You are looking at it through a browser.

Toby: There are many issues with enforcing a timer. Network latency, disconnects are just two of them. And if you add a pause button, then people will just pause it until they figure out what they want to do. If you make the other player accept the pause first then you will get people who refuse to allow you to pause it when your phone rings etc.

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 6:07 pm
by Toby
make it an option like overtime.

By the Board Rules, it costs a Reroll first!
i think a pause would do it for people who play fair. it should only be resumable by the player who paused.


I would like to see a Timer, even without Penalty!
just, psychological a message, it helps people remind that someone gets bored.

and ski, add mre Sounds ! like a Touch down crowd that goes wild !

the game is so good in terms of simulating the board, you really should go for the extra candy by now.

oh and its great i love it its improved a hell of a lot since i saw it 1st last year.

And Ski, by all means make Starplayer and Ageing Rolls !!!
just state "NEW SKILL (6+3)"
"AGEING" 8

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 6:34 pm
by GalakStarscraper

Code: Select all

[quote="SkiJunkie"]Team Pictures
<TABLE><TR>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hThrower.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hLineman.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hBlitzer.gif"></TD>
<TD><IMG SRC="hCatcher.gif"></TD>
</TR></TABLE>[/quote]
Didn't realize it but this is pretty much identical to the PBeM format.

Has anyone tried using Ronald's HTML creator to make a roster for JavaBowl ... I'm betting it would work and Ronald's HTML creator is pretty slick and can automatically add picture strings. http://www.pbembb.com

If it doesn't work .. I'd be interested why not, because if its a simple change we could add a checkbox to dump HTML for JavaBowl to the program.

Galak

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 6:37 pm
by Grumbledook
well i know the same rosters i made for the bbirc program work with javabowl

i am sure it won't take a lot to cahnge them but well i just use the fumbbl website now :p

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 6:45 pm
by JasonC
I guess I'll just wait until this all gets worked out before I try it again. Thanks Though.

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 9:18 pm
by Mirascael
Toby wrote:Can you implement the 4 minute Turn Time Limit to speed up the game please ?
SkiJunkie wrote:Toby: There are many issues with enforcing a timer. Network latency, disconnects are just two of them. And if you add a pause button, then people will just pause it until they figure out what they want to do. If you make the other player accept the pause first then you will get people who refuse to allow you to pause it when your phone rings etc.
Basically, I'd agree with Toby here. Nevertheless, instead of implementing a 4minute/turn limit I'd suggest that each coach has a maximum of 60 minutes (perhaps less) available overall. Clock would count against his time whenever he is the active player.
I was a beta play-tester with Magic The Gathering Online which worked similar. I very much liked it.

If a coach runs out of time, cause automatic turnovers or, as in the case of sidestep, just let his opponent resolve a normal pushback or whatever. If both coaches run out of time, the game ends.

I'm fully aware of the fact that this might be too time-consuming to implement, this is merely meant as a suggestion.
:smoking:

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 11:17 pm
by Grumbledook
yer i don't agree with a 4 min turn limit

a time limit for each player on the match is far fairer, the nature on the game means that some games are going to take longer than others

sometimes you might get a double 1 first thing and your turn is over in 2 seconds or you just have to move a player to score with no dice rolls. These turns you have not used your 4 minutes so why not use them on other turns that require longer thinking time.

Posted: Sat May 17, 2003 12:49 am
by Darkson
Another question.

On my kick-off, I only have 3 (or less) players available, so they all have to go on the LOS. Therefore, I have no-one to kick the ball. This should be an automatic Touchback, but the tool allows me to ball as normal and does a normal scatter and bounce. Is this easy to fix?

Posted: Sat May 17, 2003 1:01 am
by Toby
I think i can take this one.

The kicking setup is not (yet?) official part of LRB.
The only thing about kicking in LRB is that a player with the "Kick Skill" must be set up specially to USE kick SKILL.