Page 1 of 1

guard-skill after failed bone head or really stupid roll

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:38 pm
by bert28
hi,
last time i played with skijunkies javabowl 7.9 my oponent's troll could use his guard-skill during my turn allthough he had failed his reallystupid roll right before my turn.
Is this a bug? Doesn`t the rule say: the troll loses his tackle zone?
thx for answers.

Re: guard-skill after failed bone head or really stupid roll

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:02 pm
by GalakStarscraper
bert28 wrote:hi,
last time i played with skijunkies javabowl 7.9 my oponent's troll could use his guard-skill during my turn allthough he had failed his reallystupid roll right before my turn.
Is this a bug? Doesn`t the rule say: the troll loses his tackle zone?
thx for answers.
I may get burned for not looking up the exact wording of Guard. But a player with a failed Bonehead should not be able to use Guard as he cannot assist a block as per the new rules.

Galak

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:21 pm
by gken1
ski-junkie isn't updated to LRB 4.0 yet.
In 3.0 this is legal

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:44 am
by Gandhi
But this raises the question: when can we expect the update?

I know, that it cost lots of time to alter the code but did skijunkie say something concerning a release of 8.0 or whatever?

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 3:02 pm
by Gus
i've been told it's expected by the end of the year, but this statement is barely of any use, since so many things could compromise it anyway.

as for the original question, as gken pointed out, it is perfectly normal under the LRB3.0, and illegal under the LRB4.0.

in the LRB3.0, a failed bonehead/really stupid roll only means the player loses his TZ, not the capacity of assisting. a TZ only allows a player to prevent others from assisting (unless they have Guard). so in the case of a guarding bonehead player who failed his roll, he would give an assist but wouldn't suppress enemy assists.