Page 1 of 1
Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 8:12 pm
by Vismuth
This question is currently tearing our local league apart to the point that the "Call the game-designer"-argument has come up (impressive since I've never heard that one in any other game yet...)
We play our leagues with the optional decks of cards with extra inducements and the card Witch's Brew can give an opposing player the skill Really Stupid.
Twice now, this card has been played on a Vampire that has failed both Really Stupid and Blood Lust at the same time!
What will happen?
1: The Vampire player gets a Turnover as the Vampire can not bite a Thrall?
2: The Vampire does not have to bite a Thrall as it can not do so as it is supposed to do it at the end of an Action that he does not get?
3: The Vampire does nothing in his Action, and then gets to bite a Thrall if one is next to him?
The arguments (in short) for each:
1: The rule Really Stupid says that the Player does nothing in his turn and can therefore not bite a Thrall.
2: The rule Really Stupid says that the Player loses his action and Blood Lust says that he has to bite a Thrall after the declared Action. A point in time that never happends and therefore he does not have to bite a Thrall.
3: The rule Really Stupid does not say thet the Player loses the Action but that the Team does. The Action is spent doing nothing and after that the Player may bite a Thrall if possible.
Please Help.
Re: Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:55 am
by GalakStarscraper
I'll be honest that its grey since both of them say that they happen immediately after declaring an action.
Sooooooo ... this really comes down to for me ... how would I rule it at a tournament I was overseeing rather than giving you my version of an official rules interpretation.
I'd rule it as #1. Really Stupid says he cannot do anything and since he needed to bite a thrall and cannot he is off the field for the Drive and its a Turnover. ... ie really good use of that Card (well played).
Re: Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 5:46 pm
by Bakunin
If Tom won't rule, i'll give my two cents.
You have too make a ruling on which roll (blood lust or really stupid) you roll first.
If you roll for really stupid first and fail, then you lose this action and dont roll for Blood lust. 2)
If you roll for blood lust first, then 1) takes effect.
I say number 2)
Re: Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:17 pm
by siggyllama
Think about it in a fluffy way. The bloodlust in completely involuntary; this particular vampire is too stupid to satisfy his thirst. Ergo, turnover. That's how I'd rule it in my league.
Re: Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:30 pm
by sann0638
Ah, but the Blood Lust only kicks in if you do an action, so I would say the vampire is too stupid to consider lusting.
Just roll a dice - 1-3 BL first, RS 4-6 first. It's only a game!
Re: Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:48 pm
by Bakunin
siggyllama wrote:Think about it in a fluffy way. The bloodlust in completely involuntary; this particular vampire is too stupid to satisfy his thirst. Ergo, turnover. That's how I'd rule it in my league.
But does that not also mean he's too stupid to find a specator to feed on?
Fluff and rules should not be mixed.

Re: Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:47 pm
by Vismuth
Bakunin wrote:If Tom won't rule, i'll give my two cents.
You have too make a ruling on which roll (blood lust or really stupid) you roll first.
If you roll for really stupid first and fail, then you lose this action and dont roll for Blood lust. 2)
If you roll for blood lust first, then 1) takes effect.
I say number 2)
sann0638 wrote:Ah, but the Blood Lust only kicks in if you do an action, so I would say the vampire is too stupid to consider lusting.
Just roll a dice - 1-3 BL first, RS 4-6 first. It's only a game!
Actually, they both kick in "Immediatly after DECLARING an Action". You dont have to take the Action to have to do both rolls. I'm trying to keep my own opinions away from this discussion and try to stay at citing rules. I want to hear your opinions, not to tell you mine.
Bakunin wrote:siggyllama wrote:Think about it in a fluffy way. The bloodlust in completely involuntary; this particular vampire is too stupid to satisfy his thirst. Ergo, turnover. That's how I'd rule it in my league.
But does that not also mean he's too stupid to find a specator to feed on?
Fluff and rules should not be mixed.

You could see it as the Vampire faints because of low blood pressure and is dragged off the pitch by the coach to get some emergency blood transfusion

Re: Blood Lust + Really Stupid
Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:15 pm
by Darkson
Vismuth wrote:Actually, they both kick in "Immediatly after DECLARING an Action". You dont have to take the Action to have to do both rolls. I'm trying to keep my own opinions away from this discussion and try to stay at citing rules.
I would rule you have to roll for both (declaring which is which) - if you're unlucky enough to fail both then the vamp can't bite and therefore leave the pitch immediately.
Long story short - if this is played on me, I probably won't move the vamp, or at least last every turn.