Page 1 of 2
Re-rolls and illegal procedure
Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 2:47 pm
by bingbong186
Hey guys
I have a query, if I call my opponent for illegal procedure because he doesn't use his Wild Animal before any other players, can he then use a re-roll to continue his turn? I ask this for two reasons
1) It's a big guy and I'm not sure about the whole team re-roll thing in this case
2) If he is allowed, does he finish resolving his actions with his other players, then get to move his Big Guy?
Also, when I call illegal procedure for not moving a turn counter, and say I've called it as the dice are being rolled for a block, does the block continue as normal if a re-roll isn't used to avoid a turnover. I'm just trying to clarify the timing issue here.
Re: Re-rolls and illegal procedure
Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 3:31 pm
by DoubleSkulls
bingbong186 wrote:
I have a query, if I call my opponent for illegal procedure because he doesn't use his Wild Animal before any other players, can he then use a re-roll to continue his turn? I ask this for two reasons
1) It's a big guy and I'm not sure about the whole team re-roll thing in this case
"Big Guys may not use Team Re-rolls during their actions," LRB 1.3 pp 26. IMO you can use the TRR in this case. IP use of a TRR isn't part of the Big Guy's action.
bingbong186 wrote:
2) If he is allowed, does he finish resolving his actions with his other players, then get to move his Big Guy?
IMO he should either move the big guy as soon as he's finished the current action or not at all.
bingbong186 wrote:
Also, when I call illegal procedure for not moving a turn counter, and say I've called it as the dice are being rolled for a block, does the block continue as normal if a re-roll isn't used to avoid a turnover. I'm just trying to clarify the timing issue here.
The action is stopped "immediately" - LRB 1.3 pp 8. IMO that once the dice are rolled you should apply the result, but you couldn't carry on moving a player for example.
You should be careful about excessive use of calling IP's. Its basically a mechanism to ensure the correct number of turns are played and a lot of coaches consider it unsportsmanlike to call IP's at all.
In the case of WA's I'd be harsher as there can be a significant advantage gained by not moving them 1st.
Ian
Re: Re-rolls and illegal procedure
Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 3:50 pm
by McDeth
[quote="ianwilliams]
You should be careful about excessive use of calling IP's. Its basically a mechanism to ensure the correct number of turns are played and a lot of coaches consider it unsportsmanlike to call IP's at all.
Ian[/quote]
Absolutely correct, any use of illegal procedure can completely destroy a friendly game. in the Wild animal scenario, i would have pointed out if he hadn't done anything before trying to move another player, instead of waiting half way through the turn.
I want to win/compete fairly. Not by standing over the table watching eagle eyed hoping for my opponent to move his turn marker. whether its acceptable via the rules or not it is a tactic that completely

Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 4:15 pm
by longfang
Wont call IPs even in a tourny game, unless the guy I'm playing against is stupid enough to call me (he'd be lucky). They certainly wouldn' be making friends with me!

Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 8:17 pm
by Longshot
IP Longfang!!!!!
ok, it was just a not funny joke

Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 8:41 pm
by Trambi
Hey the Longs brothers, I remember a tournament where you were two of the most gentle players !
Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 10:08 pm
by longfang
Trambi wrote:Hey the Longs brothers, I remember a tournament where you were two of the most gentle players !
Oh! Stop trying to give me a bad reputation!

Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:19 pm
by Longshot
I remenber your T-shirt:
Does not play well with others....

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2002 8:59 am
by bingbong186
Ok, thanks for all the replies guys, however the league I play in does use illegal procedure calls fairly forcefully, and as such I've had to adapt to the way they play. In the case of applying the result of the dice, say a block was made and a pow came up, does the opposing coach still get to roll for armour and injury as normal, or would they just place the player prone. Fortunately I haven't come up against much of this sort of thing yet, but I sort of want to be prepared for when/if it does.
Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2002 9:49 am
by McDeth
I suppose if he calls IP after you've rolled the dice then the you need to apply the die roll before the IP.
Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2002 11:29 am
by Thadrin
I'd resolve the problem thus:
He attempts to do something OTHER than an action with his WA. "Illegal procedure".
He uses a reroll and tries to move something other than his WA again. "That's a second illegal procedure. You've used your reroll for the turn, so turnover."
You MAY use a reroll (the one for the turn) because it isn't part of the WAs action. HOWEVER your opponent would have to immediately take his WA action. YOu should call this at the start of the turn or not at all, because if you miss it at the start its your own fault and you don't want to try and backtrack the turn do you?
This is actually one of the few times I think an IP is OK...if an opponent is persistant in forgetting his WA anyway.
Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2002 11:55 am
by Norse
Agreed..
the only way I would ever call an IP is if a WA has not moved...
Even still, I prefer just to say the guy can't use his WA after that instead..
Lucy forgets to move his Minotaur all the time, but it's easier just to leave him standing still...
N
Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2002 12:30 pm
by DoubleSkulls
Norse wrote:Even still, I prefer just to say the guy can't use his WA after that instead..
Fair enough in a friendly environment, but you might get a cheddar head who abuses the WA/IP rule to avoid moving his RO or Mino (when faced with 1 die or 1/2 die block).
Ian
Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2002 12:38 pm
by Norse
If there is a 2 dice block looming and I choose, then I remind the guy of course...
Actually, in the game v Lucy, I surrounded his Mino with Longbeards who all have guard... Mino throws a skull... my Ogre moves in for a foul with 4 assists to pick up his first ever casualty (our league still awards SPPs for fouling!) and my runner took the TD with ease..
I'm a nice opponent, but I don't do charity...

Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 10:57 pm
by Darkson
bingbong186 wrote:Ok, thanks for all the replies guys, however the league I play in does use illegal procedure calls fairly forcefully, and as such I've had to adapt to the way they play. In the case of applying the result of the dice, say a block was made and a pow came up, does the opposing coach still get to roll for armour and injury as normal, or would they just place the player prone.
Well, if he can't/won't use a RR he still knocked the player over so we ruled you finish the ACTION (ie armour, injury, follow ups, scatter) but finish the turn as soon as the actions resolved