Page 1 of 3
Diving Tackle
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:09 pm
by Ddraig Coch
Hi all, First of all I'm sorry, this topic has probably been covered before, but could someone run through the diving tackle skill, step-by-step. ie, opposing player moves out of tackle zone, rolls a dodge, Passes the roll, then fails it with the diving tackler, etc
If the player fails the dodge, either before or after the diving tackle, where can he use the dodge skill or use a re-roll.
I'm pretty confused by the change to Diving Tackle. I think the skill description should have been left alone, but maybe turn it into a trait.
regards

Dave

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:26 pm
by Kri
My understanding of DT: Player1=dodging Player2=diving tackle
Player1 moves out of TZ.
Player1 makes dodge roll.
Player2 decides to use diving tackle or not.
Player1 gets to reroll if necessary, either with dodge(unless tackle) or a team reroll.
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:30 pm
by Kri
I came up with a new question. If AG3 dodges out and rolls a 2 (=failed) and then rerolls for a 4 (=success). Can the diving tackler then decide to dive (=failed dodge) or was he supposed to have done that before the reroll?
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:53 pm
by Ddraig Coch
That's a good question. I guess my problem is on pg 15 of the LRB v1.3 rather than the actual description of the skill (which I am happy with)
Some skills are also used in the opponent's team turn. In this case you may choose to use the skill after an opposing player carries out an action or moves a square. If both coaches want to use a skill to affect the same action or move, then the coach whose team turn is taking place must use his skill first
Now, what this says to me is that the coach whose player is dodging, if he is going to use his dodge skill, he has to declare it before the player who has the diving tackle, once the diving tackle is declared (and successfully brought down the opposing player), the coach could not use his dodge skill.
Now, I know that doesnt make sense, that the dodging coach can't use his dodge skill to escape the clutches of a diving tackler, but that is how it reads to me. I guess the dodging coach could always use a team RR.
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 1:53 pm
by Nighthawk
Since you can declare the use of a skill affecting a dice roll after seeing the dice roll, yes, you can make the second attempt fail with the diving tackle.
Rerolling the first dodge is a decision made by player 1 (since even without the diving tackle it was a failure). So player 2 can still decide to use his skill after seeing the second roll.
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:03 pm
by Ddraig Coch
Following on from Kri's example with one of my own
If the AG3 player dodged out of a tackle zone into no other tacklezones (normally a success) but then got nailed by the diving tackler, could the dodging player use his dodge skill to dodge the diving tackler, or would that have to be a team RR ?
Dave
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:10 pm
by Furelli
You can only ever use 1 re-roll type on a dice roll. Therefore after the dodge re-roll has still resulted in a failure you have no other option but to fall over.
Furelli.
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:42 pm
by Deathwing
Ddraig Coch wrote:Following on from Kri's example with one of my own
If the AG3 player dodged out of a tackle zone into no other tacklezones (normally a success) but then got nailed by the diving tackler, could the dodging player use his dodge skill to dodge the diving tackler, or would that have to be a team RR ?
Dave
He's free to use Dodge while the Diving tackler still goes prone..you need the Diving Tackle/Tackle combo to prevent use of Dodge and force a TRR.
We had a situation last night where I dodged into three tackle zones, including from a Diving Tackler into the same Diving tackler's tackle zone.
I made it, the Diving Tackler went prone to make it a failure, and I then used a TRR to try again. Now was the dodging player dodging into 3 tackle zones or just 2 because the Diving Tackler was prone? We ruled 3 on the grounds that it's all happening simultaniously. I remember Chet spelling out exactly the timing issues on Central a while back. I'll try and find it (if it's still there) and paste it over here.
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:53 pm
by Ddraig Coch
I remember Chet spelling out exactly the timing issues on Central a while back. I'll try and find it (if it's still there) and paste it over here.
Thanks Deathwing - your post does clear it up. Now if you could find Chet's post, that would make my day
Dave
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 3:02 pm
by wesleytj
I'm with you tho Ddraig, I think the old skill was a lot better and should have been converted to a trait and then left alone.

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 3:21 pm
by GalakStarscraper
Give it a rest Wes ... your become a Don Quixhote of DT like Toby is with his "worldwide computer BB game".
Galak
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 3:51 pm
by Ddraig Coch
Woops, have I stumbled onto someone's personal crusade
'Slowly retreating backup the cul-de-sac'
Dave
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 3:55 pm
by voyagers_uk
We all have our own little personal crusades, mine happens to be a demand for a team bus/cart to store all my guys in on the way to the stadiums.
Road Trip!..........they ate Sir Robins musicians and there was much rejoicing.
but as they say. It's only a model.

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:11 pm
by Deathwing
OK, couldn't find exactly what I was looking for, but here's my understanding on how it works: (I'm sure Galak or somebody will correct any errors!)
Assume a standard 3+ dodge.
1. Make dodge roll. It comes up 3 or 4.
2. Opposing coach decides to use Diving Tackle and apply the -2 modifier to make the roll a failure.
3. Use Dodge skill or a TRR to re-roll the dodge. Note that you're re-rolling the same dice, so the standard 3+ which became a required 5+ because Diving Tackle was used remains a 5+.
4. Place Diving tackler prone and apply result of dodge roll.
Or:
1. Make dodge roll. It comes up a failure.
2. Use Dodge skill or a TRR to re-roll the dodge. It comes up 3 or 4.
3. Opposing coach decides to use Diving Tackle and apply the -2 modifier to make the roll a failure.
4. Place Diving tackler prone, knock over dodging player and roll his armour as normal.
Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:19 pm
by voyagers_uk
What changes if the DT'ler also has Tackle, I have never seen an official ruling on that one.