Page 1 of 1

Mighty blow + Multiple block

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 12:36 am
by fe2mike
Can a player use Mighty Blow on both opponents if he uses Multiple Block?

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:05 am
by voyagers_uk
Definite grey area......


Chet? JKL?

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 11:27 am
by Zy-Nox
Some say No Some yes.
NO:Mighty Blow can only be used to modify one of the rolls.
YES:A player with Mighty Blow is exceptionaly strong so can effect both players.

They are the two views of people I play against, We use the first until we hear otherwise.
It would be nice for an official stance :wink:

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 1:04 pm
by Dinaturz
I would say no, because your are blocking two players in the same action and you can't use the same ability in one action more than once.

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 3:33 pm
by GalakStarscraper
Official answer currently is that Mighty Blow can be used on each player of the block since the two players are considered as one for the purpose of the block.

Galak

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 5:53 pm
by fe2mike
That is what we thought (use it for both) do to the wording in the Living Rulebook: Their strengths are added
together and both suffer the effects of the block equally.

I personnaly like the rule this way.
Mike

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 8:57 am
by UtakHai
In our league we also play it like that.
Both can suffer the effect of mighty blow.....but as a house rule it is permitted to use dauntless and multiple block in combination...
Just think of a slayer with dauntless, frenzy,block and multiple block, perhaps mighty blow as well.... :o

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 11:11 am
by GalakStarscraper
Just for the record,

Its not a house rule to use Dauntless on a Multiple Block. That is a definitely allowed in the normal BB rules.

Galak

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 11:16 am
by voyagers_uk
Yes, I am sure you can only Dauntless against one player not two, so it cannot combine here.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 11:57 am
by UtakHai
Sorry, I meant in our league it is not allowed to combine Dauntless with Multiple Block...
We pointed out, that Dauntless, as far as the rules said, can be used against one opponent with a greather strenght, not two, tree etc.
Otherwise my DE Blitzer next skill on a double would be Multiple Block, since he already got dauntless.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 1:23 pm
by Thadrin
voyagers_uk wrote:Yes, I am sure you can only Dauntless against one player not two, so it cannot combine here.
Wrong. Dauntless may be use on a multiple block against the combined strengths of your opponents. I fully plan on getting that on my Slayers ASAP. A couple of Cas each and they're there....and both already have Mighty Blow.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 1:40 pm
by voyagers_uk
Where does it state that Thad's. If I have been doing it wrong I want to correct the boys and my thinking.


Show me the money.......

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:04 pm
by Thadrin
GAh...I'm sure Chet threw out a confirm on this...we did chat about it here
viewtopic.php?t=1022&highlight=multiple+dauntless
but doing a search on Multiple and Dauntless throws up a hell of a lot of hits....

Its here somewhere, and you CAN do it...I'm sure you can, because I specifically remember getting real evil thoughts about it.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:08 pm
by voyagers_uk
I'll have a hunt, let you know.

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2002 3:15 pm
by voyagers_uk
ok , i will run with that in future, both slayers are near skill upgrades.

look out league. he he he he he he he he he he he he he he :puke:

sorry got overexcited there.