Page 1 of 1

Another "Wild Animal" question

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:04 am
by wleroy
When a wild animal is prone next to a player form the opposing team... The turn starts, so he must move first, i.e. get up... so then he is standing next to a player from the opposing team... must he blitz the player from the oppposing team??

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:07 am
by DoubleSkulls
No. He only has to block/blitz if he begins standing up next to an opponent.

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:09 am
by wleroy
Thx for he clarification...

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2002 11:05 am
by McDeth
No, but remember he doesn't have to stand up either, tactically this may be a good ploy particularly if you stand him up and he is then stood next to 4 opposition players, sometimes if a rat ogre goes down it's best to leave him down. It may risk being fouled but you've gotta choose if you want to risk the turnover next turn or the foul from the opposition this turn.

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 8:34 am
by Pantera
McDeth wrote:No, but remember he doesn't have to stand up either,
I actually think you must stand him up. According to the WA rules, the Wild Animal MUST be activated first in the turn. And there are no "do nothing" actions.

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 8:47 am
by McDeth
You do not have to move the Wild Animal at all. The only stipulation is that if the WA is going to move he must move first. He definitely does not have to stand up. Just declare that his move has ended.
The only thing the WA has to do is to be forced to throw a Blockif standing next to opponent at the beginning of the turn. You may choose not to move the WA at all. However once you've moved another player before the WA, then you are unable to move your WA until next turn.

Hope that clears it up

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:10 am
by Pantera
True, you can declare a move action and not move (i.e. not standing him up).

But it doesn't seem to fit with the Wild Animal. Try to put a cat down at its back, and I assure you it will stand up pretty quick.
:)

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 2:04 pm
by GalakStarscraper
While it might be true that you are inclided to believe that the Minotaur would just try to spring back up.

Maybe just maybe, it has the slight presence of mind to realize that its completely outnumbered and stays down ..... if you don't buy that ... assume that the time on the ground knocks his rage down enough notches that he can hear the coach on the sidelines offering him a truckload of steaks to stay on the pitch.

Galak

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2002 3:26 pm
by Piepgrass
I guess hitting the cat VERY HARD with a steelenforced fist before putting it on its back will help keeping it there ;)

same goes for unruly woman :roll:

Poul

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:06 am
by Pantera
Well, you are right as its fully possible to move nothing, and therefore not stand the RO/MINO up. Well, maybe its me who are not completely satisfied with the Bug Guys rules. I think they may be a bit unbalanced and complicated. They do add flavor though.