First tourney with Slann (skyte)

Want to know how to beat your opponents, then get advice, or give advice here.

Moderators: Valen, TFF Mods

Smeborg
Legend
Legend

First tourney with Slann (skyte)

Post by Smeborg »

I have little experience with Slann, just a few casual games in unscheduled open leagues with experimental rosters. So it was with some trepidation that I took them to the Greenstone Cup in Auckland last weekend (20 players). But I ended up winning the tourney (my first ever tournament win), with 5 wins and 1 narrow loss (TDs: 20-10, CAS: 11-14). TD record should have been better, as I got sloppy in 2 or 3 matches when leading by 3 or more TDs. Catcher no.8 (Lionel Messy) scored 11 TDs all by himself, as many or more than I normally score with a whole team.

I followed the same system I have been proposing on the league sub-forum, which is to take no Blitzers, no Krox. TV 110 roster was as follows:

4 Catchers, 8 Linefrogs, 5 RR, Apoth
Day 1 skills: Guard (Catcher), Dodge (Catcher), Wrestle (Linefrog)
Day 2 skills: Guard (Catcher), Dodge (Catcher), Wrestle (Linefrog)

2 doubles skills were allowed, and the tourney was light on skills, especially on day 1. I only took Slann because the teams I normally like to take to tourneys do not benefit from doubles skills, and a little playtesting showed them to be quite weak in this format.

I got 9 turnover scores (1.5 per game), and never got turned over myself. Only twice did my opponent shut me out (in the last round), otherwise I scored every time I received. These are the stats of a very high performance team.

I will post the gory details below for those who are interested.

Reason: ''
Smeborg the Fleshless
Smeborg
Legend
Legend

Re: First tourney with Slann (skyte)

Post by Smeborg »

1ST MATCH VS. ORCS: Won 4-1 (CAS: 3-2). An old foe with a winning record against me.