Narkotic's Skaven Guide (long)

Contains old topics long since discussed. Now here purely for reading, not for posting to.

Moderator: TFF Mods

narkotic
Da Collector

Narkotic's Skaven Guide (long)

Post by narkotic »

Narkotic's Skaven Guide

[Edit: this was written under LRB 2.0, so mostly everything said about Rat Ogres can't be seen as valid anymore. I will update it when the new WA rules are official. The rest should still be fine]

I started playing Skaven in our league for the last season. I never played Skaven so far but was surprised by my overall success. I won 9 out 10 games and became League Champion. On the road to success I played against Dwarves, Orcs, Dark Elfs, Lizardmen, Human and Chaos. I wanted to compile my experiences in this guide which is meant for vanilla LRB coaches, though we don't use stars. Some of my statements could sound strange to you, so constructive criticism is – as always – welcome.

Team Building
The starting line-up of Skaven is not set in stone, so you may tinker around with positional players, TRR and FF as long as you consider a few things:
· always start with two Storm Vermin, you need the extra punch they provide
· always start with at least two Gutter Runners, they are your best players and top-scorers.
· never start with a Rat-Ogre, he is not needed for a classic Skaven game and due to his high price he'll only tie up resources needed elsewhere in your starting line-up.
· try starting with 12 players, Skaven are rather fragile.

A (possible) Starting Squad:
2x Gutter Runner 160K
2x Storm Vermin 180K
1x Thrower 70K
7x Linerats 350K
3x TRR 180K
6x FF 60K
Total: 1000K

Alternatively you can swap the Thrower for a Linerat and 2+ on FF, or trade one TRR or Linerat for an apothecary if you feel you’ll face some experienced bashy team.