Metal vs Plastic (and others)

A forum for football mini's talk.......painting, converting etc. etc. or showing off great accessories that make playing the game easier, cooler or more fun.

Moderator: TFF Mods

Miniature materials preference:

Poll ended at Wed May 31, 2017 2:54 pm

Metal
52%
Plastic
44%
Resin
4%
Silly Putty
No votes
Other
No votes

Total votes: 54

faust_33
Star Player
Star Player

Metal vs Plastic (and others)

Post by faust_33 »

As I was assembling and modding some minis last night, a thought struck my mind as to what sort of miniature material most people prefer. They all seem to have their advantages and disadvantages. Especially when it comes to modding and weight of the mini. I haven't noticed any real differences when painting, but I'm not an expert painter either.

If you have a different preference than the ones listed, check "Other" and let us know in the comments.

Reason: ''
Regash
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star

Re: Metal vs Plastic (and others)

Post by Regash »

I went for plastic.
  • Easy to build, convert or reposition.
  • Plastic glue works just fine without any pinning.
  • Plastic minis Big Guys are of resonable weight.
  • Kitbashing is awesome!

rolo
Super Star
Super Star
Location: Paradise Stadium, where the pitch is green and the cheerleaders are pretty.

Post by rolo »

for modelling, you really can't beat plastic. Easier to cut, lighter, doesn't bend.

But in general, it depends on what you're going to do with it. For a model that I'm just going to paint as-is, I like metal (more durable, and if I screw up, I can just dip it in paint thinner overnight and it's clean).

Plastic is *usually* a little bit cheaper, as I said it's easier to cut, and for long, straight parts (spears, long guns, stuff you don't usually see in Blood Bowl), the plastic is much smoother. But it doesn't seem to really hold detail well.