Anyone Painted Black Scorpion Miniatures?

A forum for football mini's talk.......painting, converting etc. etc. or showing off great accessories that make playing the game easier, cooler or more fun.

Moderator: TFF Mods

Djay
Experienced
Experienced

Anyone Painted Black Scorpion Miniatures?

Post by Djay »

I bought some Chaos Warriors and some Rats from Black Scorpion. They look great, but I can't get my Citadel primer to stick...it repels it in some spots and washing/scrubbing with dishsoap and a toothbrush didn't help.

Anyone have experience painting these and have the same issues? If so, what were you able to do to prep them? I haven't tried the primer spray yet because the weather here isn't conducive to that this time of year. I've left a message via their website, but no response after a couple days, so I thought I'd try here while waiting.

I'm still a novice to painting...I know some people say they have to prime Trollcast differently, so I'm wondering if this material is similar.

Thanks for any help/advice.

Reason: ''
Duder
Experienced
Experienced

Re: Anyone Painted Black Scorpion Miniatures?

Post by Duder »

I painted Black Scorpion Dwarfs. I washed with soap water and toothbrush then primed with spray on primer, I used either Kilz Original or Rust-oleum 2X Ultracover). I don't recall having any issues with paint adhesion.

Regash
Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star

Post by Regash »

I had a dwarf team and had them spray-primed with ordinary acrylic black primer after some treatment with warm water, dish-soap and a toothbrush.
Can't remember any problems either.

Tablet
Veteran
Veteran

Post by Tablet »

After giving them a thorough scrub in soapy water (and then a thorough rinsing in clean water) I primed my Orcs with Humbrol Acrylic primer and had no issues.

GeordieBowl IX 2017 - Wooden Spoon
Djay
Experienced
Experienced

Post by Djay »

Hmmm, ok.