Register    Login    Forum    FAQ

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 4:20 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:42 pm
Posts: 2106
Location: York
GalakStarscraper wrote:
daloonieshaman wrote:
in order
1) GFI
2) Tentacles
3) Dodge
4) Diving Tackle
5) Shadowing


Order, spelling and capitalization corrected


But if they fail the GFI you can still attempt to tentacle and if that fails to shadow them right?

_________________
My past and current modelling projects showcased on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 4:57 pm 
Da Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 1:55 pm
Posts: 8222
Location: Back in the UK
If they fail the GFI then they don't attempt the dodge so you can't tentacle them.

_________________
Ian 'Double Skulls' Williams


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 5:17 pm 
Star Player
Star Player

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:11 pm
Posts: 664
DoubleSkulls wrote:
If they fail the GFI then they don't attempt the dodge so you can't tentacle them.


But if you fail a GFI, you end up in the space where you were GFI'ing to? Surely that isn't the intention of tents?

To me, that's similar to if you fail a leap away from tents, crashlanding in the target square instead... I must say, I always thought tents came before GFI, but Galak knows the rules best :D.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:23 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
Actually Tom and I got it wrong
(yes I actually looked it up and read the freakin rule)
in order

2) Tentacles
3) Dodge
4) Diving Tackle
1) GFI
5) Shadowing

pg 20 of the rulebook
roll d6 AFTER he has moved into the square
He does NOT even roll GFI if he does not move to the square due to Tentacles
**The GFI exception to rolling after he has moved into the Square is a blitz when he has to GFI to make a hit. In which case he rolls GFI before rolling the Block dice.**

ps (same page same paragraph) If he fails he is Knocked Over and THE TURN ENDS IMMEDIATELY!...

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:43 pm 
Da Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 1:55 pm
Posts: 8222
Location: Back in the UK
You are quite right :oops: GFIs after dodges and before shadowing (although you could still shadow someone who failed the GFI).

And those "how to do a turnover" clauses should have been removed....

_________________
Ian 'Double Skulls' Williams


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:20 pm 
Godfather of Blood Bowl
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 15853
Location: Indiana, USA
daloonieshaman wrote:
Actually Tom and I got it wrong
That's what I get for answering without looking at the rulebook first. You are correct

Tom

_________________
Impact! - Fantasy Football miniatures and supplies designed by gamers for gamers
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:42 pm 
Emerging Star
Emerging Star

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:41 pm
Posts: 364
So In the spirit of this discussion a leap roll would also take place before the GFI roll.

EDIT: in the same timing as a dodge roll would make sense as I read it.

_________________
www.DorkaMorka.com

DMBBL


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:06 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
nick_nameless wrote:
So In the spirit of this discussion a leap roll would also take place before the GFI roll.

EDIT: in the same timing as a dodge roll would make sense as I read it.

umm yes
(you splat either way lol)
but Tent may/not stop you
and if successful you may/not be shadowed

**based on the roll**

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:07 pm 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:27 pm
Posts: 90
nick_nameless wrote:
So In the spirit of this discussion a leap roll would also take place before the GFI roll.

EDIT: in the same timing as a dodge roll would make sense as I read it.


Probably so, and the FAQ seems to concur.
Quote:
Q: Can you Go For It (GFI) to Leap?
A: Yes. Place the player in the square targeted by the Leap skill and then make
the GFI roll (or "rolls," if you need two). If you fail a GFI roll, knock the player
down in the new square to which he was leaping. The opposing coach makes an
Armour roll as usual.


Although I think it is less relevant, since the end result is the same regardless of order: Leaper ends up face-first in target square. :lol:


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:12 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:32 pm
Posts: 14
Nikolai II wrote:
Although I think it is less relevant, since the end result is the same regardless of order: Leaper ends up face-first in target square. :lol:


Hmm, perhabs not that useless. This could be used to ensure a slann catcher got two squares away on his GFIs - perhabs to get him out of blitz range - at times when the distance was more important than keeping him on his feet. It would be an extra 2+ to ensure two squares cleared instead of one.

Option 1:
GFI GFI: 2+, 2+ to move 1 or 2 squares, and perhabs fall in either.

Option 2:
Leap GFI GFI: 2+, 2+, 2+ to move 2 squares, and perhabs fall in that square

Correct interpretation?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:43 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
according to the rules FAQ for GFI on pg 77 it says you must make a GFI roll (or rolls if you need two)

so you leap 2 squares you GFI twice (and still fall in the target square)

?? can you surefeet a GFI leap??
my thought is by pure rules yes

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:24 pm 
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:27 pm
Posts: 90
johnnih wrote:
Option 2:
Leap GFI GFI: 2+, 2+, 2+ to move 2 squares, and perhabs fall in that square

Correct interpretation?


This one, since otherwise you'd be able to fall into squares with players in, and this is not a TTM.

daloonie: yes, sure feet for the gfi-rolls, but not for the leap itself..


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:21 am 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
Yes you would roll leap (land) (not :puke: )
then
GFI (sure feet if needed) + GFI (sure feet if needed and not used, but can use a pro or team re-roll) (you must pass both)
if either fail you splat in the target square
turn over if splat
He would not have any move left to blitz (if lept 2 squares) (unless he lept one square for GFI and the the second for the blitz)
On a Blitz roll that GFI before resolving the blitz as normal

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:21 pm 
Rookie
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:19 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Paris, France
The LRB6 competition rules specifies in the FAQ :

Q: Can you Go For It (GFI) to Leap ?
A: Yes, place the player in the square targeted by the leap skill and then make a GFI roll (or "rolls", if you need two). If you fail a GFI roll, knock the player down in the new square to which he was leaping. The opposing coach makes an armour roll as usual.

Though it is true it doesn't specifies "before" or "after" the leap dice roll.
But usually, when you jump, you automaticaly place the mini in the targeted square... So... ^^
"place the player in the square targeted by the leap skill and then make a GFI roll " then do the leap roll ?

In France, it is customary to GFI before anything else (except tentacles if I remember correctly)...

_________________
Image
NAF Rewards Committee Member (2014)


Last edited by ssb on Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shadowing combined with diving tackle
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:00 pm 
Legend
Legend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:58 am
Posts: 2074
Location: Pasadena California
ssb wrote:

In France, it is customary to GFI before anything else (except tentacles if I remember correctly)...

It is okay we forgive you for not being able to interpret the finer points of English.

_________________
Image
2014 Chaos Cup Stunty Cup


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » Blood Bowl » Skills & Traits Queries


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: